American Priorities

It would seem that the main moral/political concern of conservative Christian Americans is abortion.  While I agree that championing the unborn, the most vulnerable of children, is an incredibly worthy cause, it is a deep and complicated issue that will take a great deal of work over a long period of time.  Meanwhile, it feels like God’s people, to whom Jesus said,

“‘For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me…’Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me'”. (Matt 25:35-36, 40)

have completely forgotten the already-born and suffering children around the world who are perishing at numbers of 24,000 a day (compared to the number of American children lost to abortion everyday: 3315). 24,000 children die every day across the globe of completely preventable causes.  This single-issue political mindset is not only counter-productive, it’s deadly.  If Christians would devote a fraction of the resources and energy that they give to abortion to issues like poverty and hunger, they could do unimaginable good.

Mother Theresa often spoke of what a blessing it was for her to work so closely with the poor because she got to see her Lord’s face in the face of each person she helped.  She even developed her “5 finger gospel”, which went, “You Did It To Me”, and she took it literally as I believe our Lord meant it to be taken.  If He was anything, He was at the very least a lover of children and champion for the poor and outcast.

As we enter the Christmas season, and Christians once again get up in arms about which stores use “Christmas” and which ones use “holiday” or “season” , let’s try and remember what the season is really all about, and it has nothing to do with shopping or how stores advertise.  The Lord of the universe came into the world as a helpless, fragile infant completely dependent on His parents and vulnerable to world.  So many babies everyday are lost because their parents don’t have the food to feed them, or mothers are so hungry that their bodies can’t produce milk for their infants and are forced to watch their babies starve before their eyes.  Children drink the only water they have available and die from the bacteria they consume, or are crippled or killed by diseases long since eradicated in our country by the wonder of inoculation.  As we celebrate the miracle of the baby Jesus, remember some of what He taught as an adult and help some of the many worthy organizations give food to the hungry, water to the thirsty, clothes to the naked, and medicine to the sick and dying.

“And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.'”

Due to the current food crisis in Somalia it is estimated that one child dies every 6 minutes.

Leave a comment